Stress free guide to product compliance

requirement list

Requirement list categories

category A type approval
Standards and regulations that relate to the intrinsic design of the product. In most retail organizations, it is the responsibility of the purchasing department to ensure that this information, along with specifications and so on, are made available to the supplier. In return, the supplier must provide proof: a test report, a statement or something similar. Most of the requirements in this category, include the harmonized standards that are usually applied to demonstrate compliance with the essential requirements of the directives: Toy Directive, LVD, EMC, R & TTE, PPE and many more.

Category B Manufacturing
Where Category A requirements relate to construction and design, Category B requirements relate to the actual manufacture of the product. Is the product made as it was originally tested? It is important to check that materials used in the manufacture of the product do not violate legislation (REACH, RoHS, food Contact Materials, etc.).We distinguish Category B into three subcategories (B1, B2 and B3) depending on the penalties that market regulators may impose.

Category C Performance and specifications.
These are claims used to demonstrate the performance or functional aspect of a product. The owner of such claims in most organizations is the marketing and communications department. Examples include colorfastness of textiles and durability of products. Non-compliance can lead to complaints and dissatisfied users of the products.

category D collective responsibility
This category covers a variety of requirements related to Corporate (Social) Responsibility. The owner of these requirements is the board of directors of the company. Examples are BSCI, FSC and recycling requirements. Non-compliance can lead to critical questions from consumers and in particular NGOs who have agendas related to these issues.

Category E Critical business requirements
Non-compliance with these requirements means, that the risk of the product not being sellable is very high, not from a legal, but from a business point of view. For example, licenses or standard sizes of kitchen furniture or other aspects of products have the "standard" in the market.

Category F Business Specific Requirements.
These are requirements prescribed by the buying party, in addition to the legal requirements. Non-compliance can lead to a situation where your customer will not accept the goods.

Category G Explanations and test methods
Requirements that prescribe on the design (e.g. products with a hot surface or hygiene for food processing companies) or describe test methods (e.g. Standby mode for appliances or content of chromium in leather). Test reports may refer to them.

Category T Transport
Requirements that apply to the transport of products, such as decontamination of wood, or safety tests for the transport of lithium batteries are shown here.

category DOC Declaration of conformity
An overview of the directives, which are applicable for CE marking and have to be mentioned on the declaration of conformity, are mentioned here.